SOCAN members Drake and Daniel Caesar won, and Shawn performed alongside Miley Cyrus, at the 61st annual Grammy Awards, held Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019. Caesar won at a ceremony earlier in the day, while Drake and Mendes were part of the evening gala, broadcast live, worldwide, from The Staples Center in Los Angeles.

A seven-time nominee, Drake won Best Rap Song for “God’s Plan,” whose co-writers include his longtime SOCAN member producers/collaborators/co-writers Boi-1da and Noah “40” Shebib. Making a rare appearance to accept the award, Drake said, “You’ve already won if you have people who are singing your songs word for word, if you are a hero in your hometown. If there’s people who have regular jobs who are coming out in the rain, in the snow, spending their hard-earned money to buy tickets to come to your shows, you don’t need this [a Grammy Award] right here, I promise you, you already won.” He tried to continue speaking, but was cut off as the show cut to a commercial.

Daniel Caesar shared a Best R&B Performance Grammy with H.E.R. for their co-written and co-performed duo, “Best Part.” Caesar’s usual co-writing/production team of SOCAN members Matthew Burnett, Jordan Evans, and Riley Bell are also co-writers on the song. All were also indirectly honoured because the song is included on H.E.R.’s eponymous debut EP, which earned Best R&B Album. Other SOCAN member co-writers/producers on the recording include Drake, Majid Jordan, Noah “40” Shebib, Nineteen85, and Illangelo.

Early in the telecast, Shawn Mendes gave an electrifying performance of his hit song “In My Blood” alongside Miley Cyrus, with whom he’s rumoured to be releasing a new duet single soon. Starting softly at the piano, Mendes soon strapped on an electric guitar, then traded solo vocal lines and duo harmonies with Cyrus, building to a white-hot intensity.

In other winner-connected SOCAN member news, co-writers/producers Frank Dukes, Murda Beatz, and Illangelo lent their skills to Cardi B’s Invasion of Privacy, which won Best Rap Album. Stephen “Koz” Kozmeniuk and Michael Sonier were among the co-writers of songs on Best New Artist Dua Lipa’s eponymous debut album. Alex Cuba co-wrote and is featured on “Por Eso Me Voy,” on Claudia Brant’s Sincera, which won Best Latin Pop Album. David Francey wrote the song “Bordeline,” included on The Travelin’ McCourys’ eponymous debut, which won Best Bluegrass Album. And Serban Ghenea played a part in Beck’s Colors, which won Best Alternative Music Album and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical.

SOCAN congratulates our Grammy-winning and winner-connected members on these huge achievements!