The Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA) has announced that Andrew Cash, a former Member of Parliament, SOCAN member, and JUNO Award-winning Canadian independent artist, has been appointed as the organization’s President.

“After an exhaustive search, we’re thrilled to announce Andrew Cash as the new President of CIMA,” says Tim Potocic, Chair of CIMA’s Board of Directors and President of Sonic Unyon Records. “Andrew brings enormous strength to our organization with his unique combination of music, government, policy, and community activism experience. We’re excited for the future, with him leading the way.”

At CIMA, Cash plans to build on the relationships, skills, and experience he’s gained in his past work to help lead Canada’s independent music sector to a robust recovery when the COVID-19 pandemic ends.

“Our members are at the forefront of Canada’s new economy as home-grown generators of intellectual property, green jobs and exports,” says Cash. “I look forward to working with all parts of Canada’s music ecosystem, along with our partners in government and the private sector, to ensure our industry has what it needs for a robust post-pandemic recovery.

“As a former artist and arts entrepreneur, I’m particularly eager to help the people at the foundation of our sector – Canadian artists – get back on their feet stronger than ever. The musical talent, digital know-how, and entrepreneurial spirit needed to make this happen are in place. CIMA will play an active role in helping artists and Canada’s independent music sector bounce back to full strength.”

SOCAN congratulates Andrew Cash, and looks forward to working with him in his new capacity, for the betterment of all Canadian music creators.

Once again this year, SOCAN members have fared very well in nominations at the Canadian Screen Awards, in the musical categories. Twenty-three of our members have earned nominations in various categories.

Presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, the Canadian Screen Awards were born of the fusion of two awards ceremonies – the Genie Awards for movies and Gemini Awards for television. The 2021 awards will be presented online over four days during Canadian Screen Week, from May 17-20, 2021.

The SOCAN nominees are as follows:


Achievement in Music – Original Score

  • Michele Osis, Elizabeth Lowell Boland (a.k.a. Lowell) – Bloodthirsty
  • Mychael Danna – Guest of Honour
    Published by Soft Pedal, administered by MRD – Music Revenue Data
  • Jay McCarrol – The Kid Detective
    Published by Kid Detective Productions Inc.
  • Janal Bechthold – Marlene
    Published by Marcando Music

 Achievement in Music – Original Song

  • Elizabeth Lowell Boland (a.k.a. Lowell), James Gray, Evan Bogart (BMI) – “Grey Singing in Auditorium,” from BloodthirstyPublished by Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd. Canada
  • Hilario Duran – “El Milagro,” from The Cuban
  • Hilario Duran – “Mambo in Dominante,” from The Cuban
    Published by Somerset Entertainment Ltd.
  • Marie-Hélène L. Delorme — “Timid Joyous Atrocious,” from Sugar Daddy
  • Ariane Moffatt – “Merci pour tout,” from Thanks for Everything | Merci pour tout
    Published by Les éditions Mo Fat


 Best Original Music, Fiction

  • Todor Kobakov – Cardinal: Until the Night – “Scott” episode
    Published by eOne
  • Tom Third – Coroner – “Fire Pt. 2” episode
    Published by 6800 Music, administered by MRD – Music Revenue Data
  • Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Sarah Slean, Antonio Naranjo – Detention Adventure – “All the World’s a Stage” episode
    Published by Ari Music Inc,, Bhatia Music, administered by MRD – Music Revenue Data, Loco Productions, PGI A Music, Slean Inc., administered by peermusic (sic)

 Best Original Music, Non-Fiction

  • Darren Fung – A Bee’s Diary
    Published by Third Side Music Inc.
  • Janal Bechthold – Company Town
    Published by Marcando Music
  • Janal Bechthold – Cottagers and Indians
    Published by Marcando Music
  • Todor Kobakov – Margaret Atwood: A Word after a Word after a Word is Power
    Published by Garrison Creek Publishing
  • Robert Carli – Toxic Beauty
    Published by Chez Bob Chez Bob Music, administered by MRD – Music Revenue Data

Best Original Music, Animation

  • Asher Lenz, Stephen Skratt – Corn & Peg “Homesick Hotel / Camp Wanna Trotta” episode
    Published by Sony Music Publishing Canada, Universal Music Publishing Canada
  • Asher Lenz, Stephen Skratt – Hotel Transylvania: The Series, “The Song Remains Asleep” episode
    Published by Sony Music Publishing Canada
  • Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Chris Tait, Kris Kuzdak – Let’s Go Luna!, “Monster Park / Meet the Strongs” episode
    Published by 9 Story Media Group Inc., administered by Anthem Entertainment
  • Neil Parfitt – The Remarkable Mr. King – “Mr. King’s Machine / Mr. King’s Concert / Mr. King’s Turnip” episode
    Published by Future Cinesymphonies, administered by Anthem Entertainment
  • Meiro Stamm – Xavier Riddle and the Secret Museum – “I Am Harriet Tubman” episode
    Published by 9 Story Media Group Inc., administered by Anthem Entertainment

For further information and a complete list of nominees, visit the Canadian Screen Awards website. Congratulations to all our nominees on this great achievement!

Dylan Menzie earned the SOCAN Songwriter of the Year honour, as well as those for Entertainer of the Year and and Buzz Album Art of the Year (for Lost in Dreams, which tied with Lawrence Maxwell’s Almost Natural), at the 2021 Music P.E.I. Awards, held the afternoon of March 28, 2021, at an invitation-only event at the Delta PEI Convention Centre in Charlottetown that followed COVID-19 rules.

Catherine MacLellan was the other big winner of the day, earning awards for Song (for “This Storm,” co-written with Tara MacLean), Solo Recording, and Contemporary Roots Recording of the Year (both for Coyote).

Double-winner Vishtèn took home the trophies for both Francophone Artist and Livestream of the Year; double-winner Kinley took the honours for both Digital Achievement and Video of the Year; Rachel Beck won Album of the Year (for Stronger Than You Know); and Logan Richard was recognized as the New Artist of the Year, on the strength of his album Everyday.

A finale, with performances by MacLellan, Menzie, and others was held at the Convention Centre the same night.

Fort a complete list of winners, click here.