SOCAN congratulates all of its members who’ve been short-listed for the 2018 Polaris Music Prize. All of the solo artists on the short list, announced July 17, 2018, are SOCAN members, and all of the listed bands include at least one singer-songwriter who’s a SOCAN member. Also, Partner’s “Play the Field” has already won the 2018 SOCAN Songwriting Prize.

The short list, by artist and album, is (in alphabetical order):

  • Alvvays – Antisocialites
  • Jean-Michel Blais – Dans ma main
  • Daniel Caesar – Freudian
  • Jeremy Dutcher – Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa
  • Pierre Kwenders – MAKANDA at the End of Space, the Beginning of Time
  • Hubert Lenoir – Darlène
  • Partner – In Search Of Lost Time
  • Snotty Nose Rez Kids – The Average Savage
  • U.S. Girls – In A Poem Unlimited
  • Weaves – Wide Open

For more information, visit the Polaris Music Prize website.

SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore Mychael and Jeff Danna, and Cristobal Tapia De Veer, have been nominated for 2018 Emmy Awards, as follows:

Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Alias Grace – Part 1 – Netflix – A Halfire Entertainment Production in association with CBC
    Music by Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna
    Published by AG Productions ULC (owned by Halfire Entertainment)
  • Crazy Diamond (Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams) – Prime Video – Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television
    Music by Cristobal Tapia De Veer
    Published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada via Twenty Fifteen Avenue Music Inc. (ASCAP)

Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

  • The Last Tycoon – Prime Video – TriStar Television, Inc. and Amazon Studios
    Theme by Mychael Danna
    Published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada via Twenty Fifteen Avenue Music Inc. (BMI)

SOCAN congratulates all three members, and their music publishers, on these great accomplishments!

The Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) has announced its full list of nominees for the 2018 CCMA Awards, and leading the race with six nominations each are three-time Female Artist of the Year winner Jess Moskaluke, and reigning Male Artist of the Year Brett Kissel.

Reigning SiriusXM Rising Star and Female Artist of the Year Meghan Patrick has earned five 2018 CCMA Award nominations. Taking home three awards in 2017, Dallas Smith has earned four 2018 CCMA Award nominations. Smith has also been announced as a performer for the 2018 CCMA Awards show.

Nominees for Songwriter(s) of the Year are:

  • Dean Brody and Matt Rovey, for the song “8th Day,” performed by Brody;
  • Dan Isbell, Meghan Patrick, and Jeremy Stover, for “Country Music Made Me Do It,” performed by Patrick;
  • Zach Abend, Corey Crowder, and Jess Moskaluke, for “Drive Me Away,” written by performed by Moskaluke;
  • James Barker, Gavin Slate, and Travis Wood, for “It’s Working,” performed by The James Barker Band; and
  • Alexander Black, Aaron Goodvin, and Cathy Gravitt, for “Lonely Drum,” perfomed by Goodvin.

The 2018 CCMA Award Show will be hosted by Shania Twain, and broadcast live from Hamilton on CBC and on Sunday, Sept. 9, 2018,  at 8:00 p.m. EST. For more informatoion, and a complete list of nominees, visit the CCMA website.